Saturday, July 18, 2020

The Last Flight - by Julie Clark

©Julie Clark
Available →Here!
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5⭐️
❤️🖤✈️ The Last Flight by Julie Clark was my June 2020 Book of the Month pick! This may very well be the first time I've read my BoTM in the same month that I received it!
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
’The Last Flight’ follows the seemingly unrelated, intertwined stories of Claire and Eva. One is fleeing marital abuse, and the other is running from her dangerous lifestyle, respectively, when an opportunistic meeting at an airport leaves them swapping their very existence in hopes of a better future. But will they find it?
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
The writing style Clark brought to the table fit quite well within the realm of suspense surrounding ’The Last Flight.’ Claire’s chapters made up the present day as Eva’s were provided as the months and days leading up to the flight. I applaud the technique as it gave rise to a much-needed perspective.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
While I enjoyed reading this book, I can't help but feel there was much to be desired. The suspense was real, and the mystery surrounding each of these women’s lives was intriguing, but the closure just wasn't there for me. Another fifty pages or so could've gone a long way at providing justice to their stories. I wasn't pulled towards one character or the other, more so I just wanted to find out how it would all tie together in the end. Aside from the airport exchange and newfound knowledge of drug dealing, this story was just okay for me. ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5⭐️

I would recommend it to anyone looking for a suspenseful fast-read without any massive expectations. Take the ’The Last Flight’ for what it is, a tale of two women fighting for their lives, and enjoy the trip! The tagline alone is enough to pique any thriller lover's interest: ’Two women. Two flights. One last chance to disappear.’

I just reviewed The Last Flight by Julie Clark. #mistyscornerreviews #thelastflight #julieclark #bookofthemonth #botm #bookstagram #bookish #booksbooksbooks #booksofinstagram #bookblogger #bookworm #reading #bibliophile #bookreads #igreads #booksandcoffee #bookblogginglife #bookaesthetic #booksconnectus #bookingtogether #worldwidebookstagram #bookishphotography #neverendingtbr #instaread #review #bookreviews #bookreviewer #bookreviewsmatter

Book Blurb:
The instant New York Times and USA Today bestseller!

An Amazon Best Book of the Year So Far - 2020!

"The Last Flight is thoroughly absorbing―not only because of its tantalizing plot and deft pacing, but also because of its unexpected poignancy and its satisfying, if bittersweet, resolution. The characters get under your skin."―The New York Times Book Review

Two women. Two flights. One last chance to disappear.

Claire Cook has a perfect life. Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious. But behind closed doors, nothing is quite as it seems. That perfect husband has a temper that burns as bright as his promising political career, and he's not above using his staff to track Claire's every move, making sure she's living up to his impossible standards. But what he doesn't know is that Claire has worked for months on a plan to vanish.

A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a woman whose circumstances seem equally dire. Together they make a last-minute decision to switch tickets―Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. They believe the swap will give each of them the head start they need to begin again somewhere far away. But when the flight to Puerto Rico goes down, Claire realizes it's no longer a head start but a new life. Cut off, out of options, with the news of her death about to explode in the media, Claire will assume Eva's identity, and along with it, the secrets Eva fought so hard to keep hidden.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women―both alone, both scared―and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.

About the author, Julie Clark:
Follow:
Facebook | Twitter
Instagram


Born and raised in Santa Monica, California, Julie Clark grew up reading books on the beach while everyone else surfed. After attending college at University of the Pacific, and a brief stint working in the athletic department at University of California, Berkeley, she returned home to Santa Monica to teach. She now lives there with her two sons and a golden doodle with poor impulse control. Her debut novel, The Ones We Choose, has recently been optioned for television by Lionsgate.

No comments:

Post a Comment