Friday, October 23, 2020

No More Secrets - by Jennifer Harvey

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
*Books-on-Tour Review*

A small town with a long memory, unforgiving and unrelenting. Secrets and lies come crumbling down in the aftermath of a father's death and unearthed truths. What really happened in the forest that night twenty years ago?

The family dynamics in this book were raw and intense. The relationships were fraught with emotional turmoil. Jennifer Harvey did a fine job exploring and portraying the complexities of Evie and Ethan's fragmented sibling bond, which was once strong and impenetrable, put to the test resulting from split-second reactions. The alternating timelines between the past and present, surrounding the night Evie's boyfriend Michael was killed until now - twenty years after her brother Ethan was released from jail, after confessing to said murder. 

While reading, I had various theories about who might've killed Michael if Ethan truly was innocent. My mind kept going back to the 'why'... the motive of a false confession. Although the ending wasn't all that surprising to me, it worked within the given narrative. I questioned a few of the character's judgments on more than one occasion; however, every action had me turning the pages faster and faster as it all unraveled.

Harvey has successfully crafted a moving tale of love and loss, mental health, teen angst, and the bonds that tie a family and town together. While this is my first read by this author, I can already tell that it won't be my last! No More Secrets is an intriguing book, perfect for those interested in emotional mysteries and family drama. Many thanks to NetGalley, the author Jennifer Harvey, and the publishers at Bookouture for my advanced copy of this ebook and my spot on this Books-On-Tour event! I have honestly and voluntarily reviewed this title.

I just reviewed No More Secrets by Jennifer Harvey. #MistysCornerReviews #BooksOnTour #BlogTour #BookReview #NoMoreSecrets #JenniferHarvey #Bookouture #NetGalley #BookPromo  #thriller #thrillerbook #psychologicalthriller #pyschologicalfiction #crimethriller #womensfiction #bookstagram #bookish #booksbooksbooks #booksofinstagram #bookblogger #bookworm #bibliophile #bookreads #bookblogginglife #readersofinstagram #booklovers #booklove #booksconnectus #newrelease #bookcommunity 

Title: No More Secrets    

Author: Jennifer Harvey   

Publication Day:  Oct 21st 2020



BUY LINKS:

Amazon:  https://geni.us/B08G1J43DRSocial

Apple:  http://ow.ly/qlje50B2bB5

Kobo: http://ow.ly/cBP250B2bz0

Google:  http://ow.ly/mre650B2bDH


Book Blurb:      

No-one confesses to a murder they didn’t commit, do they?

I haven’t seen my brother for twenty years. Not since he killed the man I loved.

Now he’s back.

I have imagined this scene a million times. What would he say to me?

But nothing could prepare me for this. What he’s saying is impossible:

“I didn’t do it.”

He must be lying. Who confesses to a murder they didn’t commit?

Everyone in our town wants him gone. Everyone’s scared of him—even me.

But maybe one of them is more scared of being found out…

And when I see something in his eyes that reminds me of everything we used to be, I realise I need to know the truth.

No matter what it costs me. No matter who wants to keep it hidden…

A dark, emotional story of a family left shattered by the legacy of a terrible crime and the question of how well we truly know the ones we love. Fans of Catherine McKenzie and Tracy Buchanan will be totally gripped by this haunting and compelling read.


About the author, Jennifer Harvey:

Jennifer Harvey is a Scottish writer now living in The Netherlands.

She is the author of three novels.

Her short stories have been published in numerous literary magazines in the US and the UK, such as Bare Fiction, Litro Online, Carve Magazine, Folio, and The Lonely Crowd.

She has been shortlisted for various short story prizes, including the Bristol Prize, the University of Sunderland Short Story Award,, and the Bridport Prize. Her radio dramas have won prizes and commendations from the BBC World Service. She has been longlisted twice for the Bath Novel Award.


Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JenAnneHarvey1  (@JenAnneHarvey1)

Website: http://www.jenharvey.net/

No comments:

Post a Comment