Friday, December 4, 2020

The Kensington Kidnap - by Katie Gayle

*Books-on-Tour Review*

A cozy mystery at it’s finest! It’s hard to believe that this is the first book by Katie Gayle, or should I say, Kate and Gail?! This duo teamed up for what I hope to be the first in a long series!

Pip, Epiphany Bloom, starts off in a financial crisis of sorts (she’s in desperate need of rent money after Mummy shut down her money bags, of course!) leading to one mistaken identity after another. Soon, she’s deep undercover on a case in search of a very hush-hush missing celebrity teenager. What could go wrong?

I loved everything about this story, total Janet Evanovich ‘Stephanie Plum’ vibes! This Epiphany Bloom cozy mystery took on a life of its own! I found much joy in playing amateur sleuth right along with Pip. I laughed out loud at most of her sister’s malapropisms, or misspoken sayings, and the references to Pip’s past mishaps! (Side note, I’d love a prequel where I could read several short stories about Pip’s misadventures, as mentioned earlier!)

The mystery itself, ‘The Kensington Kidnap,’ while a bit far-fetched, was intriguing, a celebrity teenager, and possibly others, gone missing with talks about bloggers and influencers, falling down the Twitter rabbit hole! This was just the type of comedic relief within the mystery genre that I needed between hardcore thrillers!

I can’t wait to see what newfound laughter book two will hold, especially with Pip’s (and her sister’s) one-liners, her cat’s upcoming life changes, and the looming romantic triangle! Katie Gayle has set the stage for their characters and the scene for Pip’s future at Boston Investigations!

Many thanks to NetGalley, the authors Katie Gayle, and the publishers at Bookouture for my advanced copy of this ebook and my spot on this Books-On-Tour event!

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

I just reviewed The Kensington Kidnap by Katie Gayle. #MistysCornerReviews #BooksOnTour #BlogTour #BookReview #TheKensingtonKidnap #KatieGayle #Bookouture #NetGalley #BookPromo #cozymystery #mysterybook #cozybook #murdermystery #bookrecommendation #bookstagram #bookish #booksbooksbooks #booksofinstagram #bookblogger #bookworm #bibliophile #bookreads #bookblogginglife #readersofinstagram #booklovers #booklove #booksconnectus #newrelease #bookcommunity 

Title:
The Kensington Kidnap
Author(s): Katie Gayle 
Publication Day: December 2nd, 2020
Pages: 242


Book Blurb:
A missing teenager, a mysterious cult and a case of mistaken identity – just another day’s work for Epiphany Bloom.

Epiphany ‘Pip’ Bloom is down on her luck. She can barely afford cat food, and just because Most has three legs doesn’t mean he eats any less. So she absolutely can’t afford to mess up her latest temp job. But when she walks through the door of the private investigation firm, her new boss mistakes her for a missing persons expert. He then charges her with finding Matty Price – the teenage son of two A-list celebrities – who has mysteriously disappeared from his home in Kensington.

It ought to be a disaster, but Pip reckons it’s actually an opportunity. She’s always been curious (nosy, her mother calls it) and has an uncanny knack for being at the wrong place at the right time (she doesn’t want to know what her mother thinks of that). After years of trying to find something she’s good at, has Pip managed to walk straight into the job she was born to do?

She owes it to herself and poor missing Matty to find out.

But searching for Matty takes Pip into the strange, intimidating world of the rich and famous. And it soon becomes clear that some of these people’s love for themselves doesn’t extend to their fellow humans.

As Pip investigates further, she realises the question isn’t whether Matty ran away – it’s whether Pip will find him alive and make it home safely herself...

An absolutely brilliant, light-hearted cozy mystery for fans of M.C. Beaton, T E Kinsey, Lauren Elliott and Joanne Fluke, featuring an irresistible new heroine.  

About the author(s), Katie Gayle:
Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet. 

Author(s) Social Media Links:


No comments:

Post a Comment