Friday, June 4, 2021

The Forever Home - by Sue Watson

 ✨Books-On-Tour Review✨

Ladies and gentlemen, Sue Watson has done it again! Of course, by ‘done it again,’ I mean she has completely blown my mind with her writing! 🤯 I don't know how she does it; with each new release, I'm left thinking, WOW, this has been her best one yet! It never fails; each time I *think* I have it all figured out and practically lose my mind in anticipation of finally getting it right, then BOOM! Just a snap, crackle, and pop, and I'm all twisted up again! “𝕋𝕙𝕖 𝔽𝕠𝕣𝕖𝕧𝕖𝕣 ℍ𝕠𝕞𝕖” is no exception! 

The Anderson’s have always been the picture-perfect family on screen but what goes on behind the scenes tells a darker tale. Our story starts with a 47-year-old wife and mother, Carly, trying to hold it all together while playing hostess at her and her husband Mark’s 25th wedding anniversary when everything comes crashing down. While his trysts weren't exactly new to her, the latest went a bit too far. In the end, Carly finds a way to not only fight for herself but also do what she's always done best, fight for her children and her forever home. 🏠 

While a few of the characters were quite despicable, Carly was one to root for. She wasn't flawless by any means; she had her secrets, blow-ups, and vices, sure, but she was also relatable and kind-hearted - a loving mother and maternal figure through and through. Sometimes as mothers, we get so preoccupied taking care of life’s details and putting out the fires that we tend to overlook the fact that kids catch on to far more than we give them credit for, both the good and the bad. Carly's internal monologue of her mothering journey, in a hindsight perspective, helps bring her character to life and tie the story together in more ways than one. 

I loved how there were absolutely zero loose ends in “𝕋𝕙𝕖 𝔽𝕠𝕣𝕖𝕧𝕖𝕣 ℍ𝕠𝕞𝕖,” the fact that everyone was made to look suspect at one point or another, and that the final twist was just as jaw-dropping as I’d hoped it would be! 

Many thanks to NetGalley, the author Sue Watson, and the publishers at Bookouture for my advanced copy of this ebook and my spot on this Books-on-Tour event! I have honestly and voluntarily reviewed this title.

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

I just reviewed The Forever Home by Sue Watson. #MistysCornerReviews #Bookouture #NetGalley #SueWatson #NetGalleyReads #booksconnectus #bookstagram #bookish #booksbooksbooks #booksofinstagram #bookblogger #bookworm #bibliophile #bookdragon #bookblogginglife #suspensebooks #readeveryday #thriller #bookrecommendation #bookgram #couldntputitdown #bookcommunity #readingcommunity #thrillerbooks #psychologicalthriller #booknerd


Title:
The Forever Home
Author: Sue Watson
Publication Day: June 4th, 2021
Pages: 391

BUY LINKS:

Book Blurb:
You thought you’d always be safe there… you were wrong.

Carly had thought they’d always live there. The beautiful Cornish cliffside house they’d taken on as a wreck, that Mark had obsessively re-designed and renovated – a project that had made him famous. It was where they’d raised their children, where they’d sat cosily on the sofa watching storms raging over the sea below. It was where they’d promised to keep each other’s secrets…

Until now. Because Mark has fallen in love. With someone he definitely shouldn’t have. Someone who isn’t Carly. And suddenly their family home doesn’t feel like so much of a safe haven.

Carly thinks forever should mean forever though: it’s her home and she’ll stay there. Even the dark family secrets it contains feel like they belong to her. But someone disagrees. And, as threats start to arrive at her front door, it becomes clear, someone will stop at nothing. Because someone wants to demolish every last thing that makes Carly feel safe. Forever.

An utterly unputdownable psychological thriller about what lies are hidden in the most beautiful homes. Perfect for fans of Date Night, Gone Girl and The Woman in the Window.

About the author, Sue Watson
:
Sue Watson was a journalist on national magazines and newspapers before becoming a TV producer with the BBC. 

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue explores the darker side of life, writing psychological thrillers with big twists.

Originally from Manchester, she now lives with her family in leafy Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – and procrastinating. Her hobby is eating cake while watching diet and exercise programmes from the sofa, a skill she’s perfected after many years of practice.

Author Social Media Links:

No comments:

Post a Comment